Brett Beer (The Lost Abbey/New Belgium Brewing)

American wild ale is a very wide-ranged category. This can be a good thing, but it can also be a bad thing. I like the idea of knowing exactly what I’m getting when I purchase a beer, but I love being blown away by a beer that I wasn’t expecting. This is why these open-ended categories can cause headaches. That and the fact that I’m a finnicky little girl. But I digress. I’m here to talk about a collaboration between two of my favorite breweries: The Lost Abbey and New Belgium.

Brett Beer labelBRETT BEER is an American Wild Ale with a 7.5% ABV.

LA:LoF Brett BeerThe best part of collaboration is discovering mutual passions. With Lost Abbey, it is the wild, Belgian yeast Brettanomyces. The Lost Abbey Collaboration is brewed simply with pale malts, accompanied by Target, Centennial and Sorachi Ace hops for a hint of citrus. But the brettanomyces is in the spotlight; a full brett fermentation offers bold pineapple overtones and a funky, sour edge. The shining, golden shade is specked with haze, and the beer is warming and dry. The Lost Abbey Collaboration is full of wild wonder and will leave you wanting more.

My first thought when I poured this beer into my tulip glass was Mountain Dew. The head is an inch of white that reminded me of fresh snow (which was quite the contrast when compared to the warm spring day on which it was consumed). Lemon yellow highlights appear when I held the glass up the sun. The liquid was quite murky, but some bubbles were noted floating around inside.

Like I said above, American wild ales can be a major toss-up, but the nose is usually the first indication of what to expect. I took a sniff and was transported to a barn (this was a good thing). Green apples, barnyard, white grapes, straw, and grass were all present in the nose.

The taste starts muted with a little acidic bite to it. White grape was the first discernible taste. A dry grass flavor follows it with a touch of clover and honey. An overall sourdough flavor permeates throughout each sip.

Mouthfeel is light and bubbly. This bubbles coat your palette, before disappearing and drying things out.

Brett Beer doesn’t really tastes like an American wild ale. It tastes like a saison. I mean really tastes like a saison. I honestly think if I would have went into this thinking saison I would have liked it better. But since I saw the words “American wild ale” and “Brettanomyces” I was expecting some sourness and tartness that sadly weren’t present. The Lost Abbey and New Belgium are two of my favorite ale factories, so I had high hopes for this beer, but sadly it did not quite reach them.

Overall: 6 out of 10

As an AMERICAN WILD ALE: 4 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Ommegang OMMEGEDDON, The Lost Abbey MO’ BETTA BRETTA, Crooked Stave L’BRETT D’OR

2 Comments

Filed under American Wild Ale

2 responses to “Brett Beer (The Lost Abbey/New Belgium Brewing)

  1. Your ratings of beer are wonderful. By no means am I an expert, so I follow much of your advice. I love my beer and your blog is very helpful. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

