India Pale Ale (Avery Brewing)

I don’t know how I’ve never had the regular IPA from Avery in all my years of drinking. I’ve had their hoppy as hell Maharaja, but never their standard version. I recently found myself at BevMo! looking for a beer to take to a friend’s party and these cool looking cans caught my eye. Since I’m always looking for new IPAs and cans make you look cool, I figured this would be the way to go.

Avery INDIA PALE ALE is an American IPA with a 6.5% ABV.

In the 1700s one crafty brewer discovered that a healthy dose of hops and an increased alcohol content preserved his ales during the long voyage to India (as depicted in our label) to quench the thirst of British troops. Today, we tip our hat to that historic innovation by brewing Colorado’s hoppiest pale ale. Avery IPA demands to be poured into your favorite glass to truly appreciate the citrusy, floral bouquet and the rich, malty finish.

My can cracked open with a hiss and released a light copper liquid into my pint glass. Gold highlights and plenty of bubbles show up when I hold the glass to the light. The head is several inches of a honeycombing off-white color. Lacing is sticky and leaves clumps hanging all over the glass.

As soon as the can was popped I instantly detected hops. Pine hops, hemp hops, and grassy hops were all there. Hints of grapefruit and hay were also detected with a smell like a fresh mowed field of wild grass.

The taste is hay, sweet pine hops, and some doughy malts in the middle. Shockingly (not really) more hops pop up at the end with some citrus notes. This is a very hoppy IPA, one that is so hoppy that loses the drinkability and could almost be called an Imperial IPA.

Mouthfeel is light, but the hops add a noticeable stickiness. Carbonation adds a clinginess that is increased when added to the hop juice. Booze is surprisingly there, even though the beer is only 6.5%.

Avery is a good brewery, but I think they kinda missed the mark here. Their India Pale Ale is a decent beer, but it just didn’t do it for me.

Overall: 5 out of 10

As an INDIA PALE ALE: 4.5 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Great Divide TITAN IPA, Ska Brewing MODUS HOPERANDI, Full Sail IPA

Leave a comment

Filed under India Pale Ale

Leave a Reply

