Tweason’ale (Dogfish Head Craft Brewery)

The uniqueness with which they make their brews always draws me to Dogfish Head Craft Brewery. Be it unique ingredients or unique styles, their beers usually push the boundaries in one way or another. When I saw that they had made a sorghum-based beer I figured this would be the perfect beer to be my first gluten-free review.

TWEASON’ALE is a Fruit/Vegetable beer with a 6% ABV.

For our first new 12-ounce 4-packs in nearly half a decade, we replaced the classic barley foundation of beer with a mild sorghum base. The hints of molasses and pit-fruit are balanced by vibrant strawberry notes and a unique complexity that comes with the addition of a malty buckwheat honey.

Tweason’ale pours a very inviting apricot color. Even though bubbles are ever present, the head is practically nonexistent.

After seeing that cute little strawberry on the box I was surprised that the first scent I picked up was red apples. The strawberry appears shortly thereafter along with a faint hint of chocolate. A red wine/brandy alcohol note comes through as it warms up, so much so that I might mistake this for a wine in a blind smell test.

I hadn’t really had a gluten-free beer since I had become so familiar with the style, so the taste took me by surprise. The sorghum is noticeable right away with a flavor that is hard to describe, but definitely not your typical beer malts. Red wine notes come next, but not for long. Under-ripe strawberries push through for a second before the faint honey and bread backend.

Mouthfeel is light to medium bodied with some slight drying. If the viscosity and carbonation was lower it could pass for a wine. There’s also a light residue left behind when all is said and done.

This was the first time I’ve drank more than a sip of a gluten-free beer. I won’t say that I didn’t like it, but I’m glad that I can drink the regular stuff. The adjuncts (strawberry and honey) weren’t as forward as I would have liked, which left this beer tasting like a carbonated wine. I might revisit this beer after trying a few more gluten-free beers to see if it’s Tweason’ale’s fault or my own as to why I’m left unimpressed.

Overall: 4.5 out of 10

As a FRUIT BEER: 3.5 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: New Planet 3R RASPBERRY ALE, Lakefront NEW GRIST, Pete’s WICKED STRAWBERRY BLONDE

Leave a comment

Filed under Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Leave a Reply

