Kali Kush (Breakwater Brewing)

For my second beer I wanted to go back to the world of hoppy beers. Since I had already ordered a beer this weekend that referenced marijuana, I figured I might as well try another one.

KALI KUSH is a Herb/Spice beer with a 6.8% ABV.

Our special pale ale brewed with a good dose of hops and a touch of  locally wildcrafted sagebrush.

Look at that beer. Doesn’t it just look delicious? It pours a cloudy honey yellow color with orange highlights. An occasional bubble floats up to the nonexistent head.

Nose is similar to menthol cough drops, honey, and wildflowers. Kinda smells like a cactus.

The taste is great. Sage comes through first, then honey, and finally some hibiscus flowers. It has a very medicinal taste, but it’s so unique that I wanted more. Their claim that it was a Pale Ale had me prepared for one thing, but I definitely wasn’t upset with the actual flavor.

Mouthfeel is light and kinda sticky. It evaporates quickly and leaves some hop-like drying.

I really enjoyed this beer. Anytime a beer completely catches me off guard it instantly earns my respect (unless someone maliciously blindsides me). The sage and honey add a very Mead like quality to this beer that threw me for a loop. I could drink a couple more of these.

Overall: 7 out of 10

As an HERB ALE: 8 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Brasserie Dieu de Ciel ROSÉE D’HIBISCUS, Hollister ORGANIC HONEY SAGE ALE, Hopcat SAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE

2 Comments

Filed under Herb Ale

2 responses to “Kali Kush (Breakwater Brewing)

  1. Pingback: San Diego Birthday Weekend: Day #2 | Ales In Comparison

  2. Pingback: Citywalk Pale Ale (Karl Strauss Brewery) | Ales In Comparison

Leave a Reply

