Smashed Blueberry (Shipyard Brewing Company)

I had recently purchased and consumed the Shipyard Smashed Pumpkin ale and I knew that I had to pick up the similarly titled SMASHED BLUEBERRY when I saw it on the shelf at my local beer store.

Another in their Pugsley Series, Smashed Blueberry is a fruit beer with a bigger than average 9% ABV.

A hybrid between a Porter and a Scotch Ale. This beer has a rich mouth feel and a body of complex intensity. Upfront, there are notes of coffee and chocolate beautifully accentuated by the aroma of blueberries. The finish features a delicate balance of sweet fruit and dry hops. 

Smashed Blueberry poured a surprisingly dark brown with red wine highlights. The head is a ruddy cola brown, but fades away quickly.

As you may have deduced from the title the nose on this beer is big on blueberries and blueberry juice. Behind that is a grape-like muskiness and a faint booze smell. Hints of raspberry and chocolate are also detectable. I could smell this beer with my nose two foot from the glass.

Sadly, the taste is kinda bland. Peaty malts dominate the flavor, giving it a Scotch Ale feel. Surprisingly I couldn’t detect the blueberry that was so forward in the nose. Hints of an indistinct fruit are present in the backend. Really underwhelming.

Mouthfeel is light and dry. It evaporates quickly and leaves a cocoa powder-like flavor behind.

I don’t know if I “cellared” this beer too long (unintentionally), but this beer was kinda meh. The blueberry is practically non-existent in the taste and no other flavors step up to fill that void. I was really hoping to get smashed on blueberries, but I guess that’s not the case.

Overall: 5 out of 10

As a FRUIT BEER: 5.5 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Dogfish Head BLACK & BLUE, Anheuser-Busch WILD BLUE BLUEBERRY LAGER, Sea Dog BLUE PAW WHEAT ALE

Leave a comment

Filed under Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Leave a Reply

