The Horror (Elysian Brewing Co.)

I initially ordered this beer because of the name. You must admit that the name THE HORROR is pretty badass. It also didn’t hurt that Belgian Stout is a style of beer that I’m not all the familiar with and I’m always looking to expand my beer knowledge. Although sites such as Beer Advocate state that most “Belgian Stouts” are either American Stouts or Belgian Dark Ales, but since Belgian Stouts are growing in popularity I’m going to declare this a new style (because I have power like that). The Horror clocks in with a 6.4% ABV. 

I couldn’t find anything about this beer other than the fact that it’s kind of a one-off beer. That makes me glad that I tried it when I had the chance. 

The Horror pours a deep black with no visible highlights or carbonation. One to two inches of brown-white foam sits atop the inky liquid. Lacing is heavy and leaves a brown sheet on the sides of the glass.

Anise is big in the nose, along with roasted barley. Faint baker’s chocolate and hints of smoke balance out the scent.

Taste is mild…and that is a good thing. The anise comes through and gives it a slight spiciness before the malts balance things out. The Belgian yeast can be noticed toward the back-end as cloves appear to pop in to say hello. There is something in there that kept making me think of bubblegum with every sip I took.

Mouthfeel is creamy and goes down smooth. Drying occurs, but nothing more than what would be expected from a dry stout.

The Horror is a style of beer that I don’t see very often, but I’m always willing to try. I do wish that the dark malts, that stouts are known for, were showcased a bit more. The Belgian influences are definitely present and accounted for, I just wish that the stout was a little more active in the flavor.

Overall: 7 out of 10

As a BELGIAN STOUT: 7.5 out of 10 

FOR FANS OF: Smuttynose BELGIAN STOUT, Midnight Sun SLOTH, Picobrouwerij Alvinne / Den Bierzolder PODGE BELGIAN IMPERIAL STOUT

1 Comment

Filed under Belgian Stout

One response to “The Horror (Elysian Brewing Co.)

  1. Pingback: Pacific Northwest Trip: Day #3 the walk back « Ales In Comparison

Leave a Reply

