Longhammer IPA (Redhook Brewery)

Longhammer IPA comes from Washington’s Redhook Brewery and has been around for 27 years! This American IPA has a 6.5% AB, 44 IBUs and is available nationwide.

The generous addition of hops both during and at the end of the fermentation process (dry-hopping) gives our India Pale Ale its characteristic bitterness and piney citrus aroma and flavor.  The medium body, crisp finish, and moderate alcohol and IBU levels makes this one of America’s most drinkable and best-selling IPAs.

Longhammer pours a bubbly golden yellow with an inch of white head. A surprising amount of sediment floats at the bottom of the glass. Sticky lacing is left behind as the beer disappears.

Floral hops come through first in the nose of this beer. Hay and faint hints of honey and strawberries are detectable. As the beer mellows the strawberries become more dominant.

I must admit that I wasn’t quite prepared for what I got when I first took a sip of Longhammer. I knew the beer had been around a while and rumbling on the interwebz were not very positive, but I have to disagree with the majority. A fruitiness sweetness was the first thing I noticed and my original notions of this beer went out the window. Just about the time you notice the fruitiness, the floral hops come through with a hoppy bite. Mild cracker malt hints appear before fading into a straw-like backend.  The combination of the sweet and the hoppy work in this beer’s favor.

Mouthfeel is light, but bitey. The beer dries your mouth out quickly and leaves a stickiness in its place. This feeling is kind of off-putting and distracting, especially considering how smooth the rest of the beer was.

I had read some rather negative things about the quality of the Redhook lineup, but I must admit I enjoyed Longhammer IPA. A fruity sweetness sets this beer apart from your standard American IPAs and gives it a uniqueness that you remember. However, the stickiness of the aftertaste hurts its overall grade.

Overall: 6.5 out of 10

As an INDIA PALE ALE: 6 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Harpoon IPA, Ithaca Beer FLOWER POWER INDIA PALE ALE, Boulder Beer MOJO IPA, 

2 Comments

Filed under India Pale Ale

2 responses to “Longhammer IPA (Redhook Brewery)

  1. Austin Lowe

    Beer is my most beloved beverage. I taste beer like rich a***oles taste wine. I couldn’t be happier that my native Seattle is the number one area for micro brewed beers. I love all Red Hooks, it’s the only beer I choose if it’s on tap( I only go tap at the bars) at my local bar. But, recently, I have noticed that the bottled counter parts tend to have a sedimentary accumulation at the bottom. Now, for juices and similar drinks a simple shake will right the problem…. But this is beer… One does not simply shake a beer. I’m curious, is said sediment benign? I have noticed it in bottles that are only six months old. Perhaps it’s harmless, but as a consumer it’s quite disconcerting… to the point I don’t want to drink it. As I have stated above, I mostly drink on tap, but one cannot see inside a keg; as well as I have only noticed this accumulation in the last year. Is this a recent development? Either way, what is the cause of said sedimentation? Again I love Red Hook and will always drink it, but as devout customer and lover of Red Hook, I am equally bewildered. Please enlighten me!

    • What the sediment most likely is is yeast. If a brewer doesn’t filter a beer between the fermentation and bottling/kegging stage there is a chance that some of that yeast can be transferred over in the process. Some brewers specifically add yeast to the bottle to cause a secondary fermentation. This secondary fermentation can be used to either add new flavors to the beer or to ensure that the beer remains drinkable for years to come.

Leave a Reply

