Ollolieberry Wild (Bootlegger’s Brewery)

After a minor/unexpected/unnecessary delay I’m back with the rest of my Bootlegger’s Brewery reviews. Beer number 4 was one of my most anticipated beers of the day and thankfully it lived up to the hype. Ollolieberry Wild is an American Wild Ale with a 5.1% ABV.

A sour refermented with ollolieberries. 

Being that ollolieberry is long and not fun to type, from now on I’m going to refer to this beer as OW.

I really wish the photo for this beer would have turned out better, because it is an odd-looking beer. First off, it pours a murky ruddy brown. Chunks of something (fruit? yeast?) floats along the bottom of the glass. At this point I honestly didn’t know what to expect.

This is where I knew that I was in for a treat. The nose is more akin to the style of the American Wild Ale. It starts off sour, like vinegar. I also picked up crab apple, faint cherry and another sweet fruit that I couldn’t pinpoint, but then again I don’t know what ollolieberries smell like.

We have a winner!!!! OW is a delectably tart beer that made me instantly think of Sweettarts candy. I also picked up hints of watermelon and strawberry that helped balance the sourness/tartness of the rest of the beer. This beer was definitely tasty.

The mouthfeel didn’t impress, but it didn’t annoy. It was light to medium with a slight dryness that didn’t distract.

Ollolieberry Wild raised the bar for the rest of the day. There were a bunch of sours/lambics on the tap list and I hope that they all could live up to the standard set forth by OW. It’s not that sour that it puckers your mouth, but it’s tart enough to make you stand up and take notice. The flavors of this beer blended splendidly and awoke a desire in me to seek out some delicious ollolieberries!

Overall: 8.5 out of 10

As an AMERICAN WILD ALE: 8.5 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Russian River SUPPLICATION, New Belgium LE TERROIR, Allagash CONFLUENCE ALE

Leave a comment

Filed under American Wild Ale

Leave a Reply

