Bourbon Chaos (Bootlegger’s Brewery)

I’ve decided that I’m going to write the reviews in the order in which I consumed the beers. Up first: BOURBON CHAOS.

Bourbon Chaos is a Belgian Strong Pale Ale with a 10+% ABV.

Belgian Ale aged in Bourbon barrels for 30 months.

Bourbon Chaos pours an ice tea brown with a little bit of gold at the bottom. Practically no head is present, except for a ring of foam. There is plenty of carbonation and more sediment than I would have expected.

This beer SMELLS LIKE BOURBON. I know, it’s a shocker (especially since it only spent 30 months in a bourbon barrel). I also detected noticeable amounts of maple syrup, cough syrup and Kahlua.

When you first take a sip you get a nice little bit of chocolate milk…and then you’re sucker punched by the bourbon. Believe me when I say that the bourbon is big in this beer. I also picked up hints of butterscotch, almonds and white chocolate.

As the beer warms the Belgian sweetness becomes more noticeable and the bourbon becomes less over-powering.

Mouthfeel is medium-to-thick and sticky. Each sip dries out your mouth; with the bourbon slightly burning your throat.

This was a very interesting beer (and one that got better as it mellowed). As it warms the bourbon evens out, thus making the beer more drinkable. Bourbon Chaos is very drinkable and not like any bourbon-barrel aged beer I’ve had before. I would definitely recommend it, but make sure you take small sips.

Overall: 7.5 out of 10 

As a BELGIAN STRONG PALE ALE: 8.5 out of 10

FOR FANS OF:  Brouwerij Huyghe DELIRIUM TREMENS, Russian River DAMNATION, Brasserie d’Achouffe LA CHOUFFE

Leave a comment

Filed under Belgian Strong Pale Ale

Leave a Reply

