My Bloody Valentine (Alesmith Brewing Company)

With another Valentine’s Day in our rearview mirrors, I felt that I should get around to writing up my review of the seasonal brew, My Bloody Valentine. This red ale is available in February and has a “fitting” 6.66% ABV.

Red made as an homage to those less fortunate with the opposite sex. Showcases the unique floral qualities of the American hop displayed against a caramel background.

My Bloody Valentine pours a deep, dark maroon with ruby highlights. The head starts as a 1/2 inch of canvas-colored foam, before fading to a film. Lacing is thick with very little breaks in the clinging foam.

The smells present in the nose of this beer were all over the flavor spectrum. Wheat, red apple, cherry, pine and bready malts were all present in the nose.

I was surprised when I took my first sip of My Bloody Valentine. The initial flavor is dark chocolate malts with a slight nuttiness blended in. Very faint hops make an appearance, before fading to a sweet apple skin-like flavor in the backend. There was something about this beer that made me think of a Milky Way Dark candy bar. As this beer nears room temperature the hops start to take the forefront of the flavor.

Mouthfeel is light, but sticky. It dries out your mouth and clings to you gums.

I did not expect a dark malty beer when I ordered a glass of My Bloody Valentine (I was at an event called “Hophead Heaven” after all), but here we are. My Bloody Valentine is a tasty beer and I’m always glad to pick up a pint of a tasty red ale.

Overall: 7.5 out of 10

As a RED ALE: 8 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Rogue ST. ROGUE RED, Mendocino RED TAIL ALE, Deschutes CINDER CONE RED

Leave a comment

Filed under Red Ale

Leave a Reply

