Shaky Hands (Hollister Brewing Co.)

Day 3 brings us a beer that I happened to try by chance.  My roommates went on a trip to Santa Barbara and on the way back they stopped at the Hollister Brewing Company.  There they picked up today’s THEME WEEK selection: SHAKY HANDS.

Shaky Hands is an American porter brewed with coffee and clocks in at 7.5% ABV.

This Imperial Coffee Porter is a balance of coffee and chocolate aromas that are a precursor to the bold flavors within.

Shaky Hands pours a jet black with a mild cola-colored head.  The cascading head slowly fades, leaving behind a thin off-white film on the surface of the beer.

I was anxious to try this beer as soon as I took my first whiff.  Roasted coffee, bakers chocolate and powdered sugar floated up into my waiting nostrils.  I also picked up hints of leather that may be a first in my beer drinking experience.  I could not wait to try this beer!

And I was not let down!  Shaky Hands tastes like a cream filled coffee with mild red wine hints and a dark chocolate backbone.  Very sweet and balanced.

Mouthfeel is medium to thin, but oh so smooth.  It doesn’t dry or cling, but it does leave a slight acidic aftertaste (this being its biggest downfall).

Shaky Hands is a fantastic beer from a brewery that I previously never even heard of.  And even though I glass that I had was from a day old growler (that had already been opened), I can still tell that this has the potential to be a fantastic beer.  The coffee and the chocolate balance each other nicely, coming together to create a creamy sweetness.  Now I really want to try this fresh!

Overall: 8 out of 10

As a PORTER: 8.5 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Rogue MOCHA PORTER, Kona PIPELINE PORTER, Berkshire COFFEEHOUSE PORTER

Leave a comment

Filed under Porter

Leave a Reply

