Meantime IPA (Meantime Brewing Company)

Meantime IPA is a, you guessed it, india pale ale from Meantime Brewing out of London England.  This “true IPA” clocks in at a respectable 7.5% ABV.

Jam packed with English Fuggles and Goldings, the beer is brewed with as many hops as we can physically get into the copper. We then fill the lauter tun with hops for a further infusion and then we dry hop with the beer with even more hops using our own unique circulation process to ensure maximum contact between the hops and the body of the beer. All this gives us a final hopping rate of well over  2 lbs of hops per barrel.

The beer pours a gold/honey color with almost no head or lacing. Head is a finger of off-white head that dissipates slowly.

I got a ton of different smells from the nose of this beer. I picked up grape, vanilla, tequila and even pencil shavings. I’m as confused as you are, trust me.

Meantime IPA reminded me of tequila as I was sipping it.  And being that I really dislike tequila, this wasn’t a good thing. I also picked up winey hints, but luckily it’s not as biting as vino. This does not taste like an American IPA, that’s for sure!

Mouthfeel is mild, with some drying, but no stickiness. It’s medium to average in the thickness.

Meantime IPA doesn’t taste like any IPA I’ve ever had. The hops (pine or citrus) don’t really appear at all, with wine/grape notes being in the forefront. This is a different experience, one that reminded me that I need to educate myself in the world of English IPAs (especially since Beer Advocate gives it an A-).  I might have to give this one another shot after I’ve familiarized myself with English IPAs.

Overall: 4 out of 10

As an ENGLISH IPA: 4 out of 10

FOR FANS OF: Samuel Smith INDIA ALE, Harviestoun BITTER & TWISTED, Belhaven TWISTED THISTLE IPA

Leave a comment

Filed under English IPA

Leave a Reply

